top of page

2024 Award Recipients

Congratulations to the winners announced at District IV, TGC, and SCR
2024 spring conventions!

Congratulations to the following NGC
Certificate Recipients

NGC Award recipients (1).png

Award Submissions

Individual members, clubs, groups of clubs, states and regions all work together to promote the love of gardening, floral design, and civic and environmental responsibility, fulfilling the mission of National Garden Clubs, Inc. The NGC Awards Program recognizes the time, effort, and resources expended by each throughout the year. We extend our sincere thanks for all that you do.  We hope you will take a bit of time to submit awards applications for the many good works you accomplish so that you and your club can be recognized and provide inspiration to others.

How to Apply - Club Members

Club members submit award applications to the corresponding District IV Chairperson.  They can answer specific questions regarding your category.  Chairpersons forward the winning entries to TGC for judging.  Then some have a chance to go on to NGC for national awards!  SCR awards also offer awards.  Please check their website for opportunities.

  1. Review the NGC awards information and NGC Awards Handbook.

  2. Review the SCR Awards Guidelines.

  3. Locate your award category and follow instructions.

  4. Download and complete a NGC Award Application cover sheet to submit for judging at the district level.

  5. Submit to District IV Chairperson overseeing your category by November 1.

  6.  District IV 1st Place winners will be announced at District IV Spring Convention and sent by the District IV Awards Chair to TGC for judging at state level.  All Awards to SCR and NGC must be submitted through the TGC Awards Chairman.

Click here for more detailed instructions and tips from District IV Awards Chair.

Where to Send Applications

Submit your award application to the District IV judge overseeing your award category.   If questions, contact Pamela Randall.

Click here for List of District IV Judges and their contact information.

All entries are due by November 1.


How to Apply - Youth Awards

A student (K-9) is not required to be a member of a youth garden club to enter poster, poetry and sculpture contests. Entries are submitted by a federated garden club or a garden club member.   This is a great project for grandchildren!  All entries are due by November 1.  

Click here to view the revised Youth Organization & Awards Brochure.

Click here to view a letter of helpful information from District IV Youth Awards Chair.

The following are awards that you should be aware of:

  • SCR BIRD OF THE YEAR POSTER (SCR #19)-  must feature the SCR bird of the year: the Whooping Crane.  Eligible students 4th-8th grade.  Materials: crayon, markers, poster paints, watercolors, etc. Size-8 1/2 X 11 inches.  Attach Form #1 to back of poster.

  • SCR POETRY CONTEST (SCR #20) -  Poetry Contest Theme:  "I Spy With My Little Eye Something Green Outside”- Celebrating Our Green World.  Grades K-9,  Special Ed & students in ESL programs.  Poems don’t have to rhyme. Use Form #1.

  • SCR YOUTH SCULPTURE CONTEST (SCR #21) - Sculptures must consist of recyclable, reused and reduced materials.  Eligible students - Grades 4-8.  Click here for form.

  • NGC SMOKEY BEAR & WOODSY OWL POSTER CONTEST - Dedicated to Smokey Bear's 80th Birthday!  Conservation message: “Lend a Hand, Care for the Land.” Size 11 X 14 inches.  Smokey Bear message “Only You Can Prevent Forest Fires” should be included.  The colors of their clothing need to be accurate.  Grades 1-5.  Attach Form #1 to back of the poster.  Click here  for details.  Click here for official contest flyer.

  • TGC ENVIRONMENTAL POSTER : Ruby Throated Hummingbird.  Original art size: 11 X 17 or 12 X 18.  Grades 1-5. Attach Form #1 to back of poster. 

Please send entry to:

Jan Fish

3427 Cape Forest Dr.

Kingwood, TX 77345


Please provide necessary postage and envelope to send onto state if you are a winner. If not used they will be returned at the Spring District Convention.  

Questions? Click here to email Jan Fish.  

Helpful Resources


Excel (.xlsx) tracking sheet for awards

  1.  Open file.

  2.  In spreadsheet, click "File"

  3.  Select "Save As"

  4. Then "Download a Copy"

  5. Edit and save to your computer

Collecting Pollen from Flower

NGC Award Cover Sheet 

(new 9/26/23)

This can also be found in the NGC Forms Library.

Texas State Awards VP info:

Linda Love TGC Vice-President of Awards

3920 Sleepy Lane, Dallas, TX 75229

(214) 803-5041

Flower Selection

Template for the 3 X 5 card for TGC application.

Click here for instructions.​

Bee on a Daisy

Template for the 3 X 5 card

for SCR application.

Click here for instructions.​

NGC Award Guidelines

All awards to NGC must be submitted through your State Awards Chairman.

SCR Award Guidelines

This information is current as of June 2023.

Please study NGC Award requirements and SCR requirements.

Award applications for SCR must be submitted through your State Awards Chairman.

Flower Arrangement
Flowers for SAle

District IV Awards Committee

Submit your award application to the District IV judge overseeing the category you are applying.  If nobody is listed under your award category, please contact Pamela Randall.

Updated 10-29-23:
Click HERE for full list of judges and their contact info / mailing addresses.

District IV Awards deadline is November 1.

Annual President's Report

Please download, fill out report, and return by February 1st
to District IV Director, Cindy Heckaman.

Click here for Annual President's Report - Gold, Silver & Bronze Clubs

Click here for Annual President's Report - Green Clubs

bottom of page